Free Member
Apr 7, 2012
Worcester
Funster No
MH
Don't own one yet
Exp
I'm a newbie
My wife and I are looking at buying our first motorhome. With only £8,000 (max) to spend we are looking at 20 year old C-class vehicles. The most common ones we are finding with the layout we want have tend to be based on either the Renault Trafic or the Talbot/Fiat Ducato. Many/most of these have petrol engines.
What are the advantages/disadvantages of a petrol engine as opposed to a diesel in this age of vehicle?

Thanks

Peter JohnsCross MH

Funster
Deceased RIP
Jan 5, 2008
East Sussex
Funster No
MH
Autotrail
Exp
Diesel will give better mpg and be more robust, with a 20 year old an, its the habitation area that you need to worry about.................. DAMP and ROT

Peter

DESCO

Free Member
Mar 11, 2009
London
Funster No
MH
low profile
Exp
18 years +12 years tugging
Diesel will give better mpg and be more robust, with a 20 year old an, its the habitation area that you need to worry about.................. DAMP and ROT

Peter

Totally agree van more important than engine

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

slobadoberbob

Free Member
Jun 1, 2009
Kent, garden of England
Funster No
MH
Winnebago 23' something
Exp
25 years & counting
you could not come in to the London LEZ

If you go for a diesel of that age you would not be permitted to enter the London LEZ... that is almost all inside the M25 round London.

As stated the vehicles condition is the first consideration.