How much does age matter (in a motor home!) (1 Viewer)

Jackiet

Free Member
Mar 26, 2012
Sussex
Funster No
MH
don't own one yet
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hello,
Am going to view a VW 1999 2.4 Compass Calypso - am also looking at newer motor homes around 2007 - more updated (and £!) but am wary having read about Fiat, Peugeot, and Citroen and water ingress.

Does age really matter? The VW fits ticks quite few boxes in particular length.
Many thanks

aba

Free Member
Oct 27, 2009
yorkshire
Funster No
MH
coachbuilt
Exp
dec 2009
as long as its no rust anywhere got lots of mot and some service history and no damp it should be better than some newer motorhomes.

Peter JohnsCross MH

Funster
Deceased RIP
Jan 5, 2008
East Sussex
Funster No
MH
Autotrail
Exp
Hello

Many thanks

Age does not neccesarily matter but unless the old uns have been well looked after, just like men, they can deteriorate !

I have some later vans that are ideal for couples and also lengthwise. like these for example:
Rapido 709f Motorhome 2006
Length: 5.56m / 18'3"
Width: 2.23m / 7'4"
Height: 2.67m / 8'9"
Mileage: 7,750
MTPLM: 3,400kg
Three berth end fixed bed model

Pilote Cityvan Motorhome 2010

Length: 18'8" / 5.69m
Width: 6'9" / 2.05m
Height: 9'0" / 2.75m
MTPLM: 3,500kg
Two Berth Fixed Bed Over Garage

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

callumwa

Free Member
Jan 16, 2011
Tyne & Wear, sometimes..
Funster No
MH
Coachbuilt
Exp
4 yrs +, 30+ yrs motorbike touring
I don't think age matters in a motorhome........

I have seen some very, very, old people in motorhomes.........:RollEyes:

In fact there are quite a few of them around us here at Chester this weekend.......:winky:

Some of them even have current MOT's, albeit it with a few advisories.....:imoutahere:

hilldweller

LIFE MEMBER
Dec 5, 2008
Macclesfield
Funster No
MH
Zilch Mk1
Exp
From Aug 2007
a VW 1999 2.4 Compass Calypso -
Many thanks

VW is a byword for quality engineering.

Older MHs were built better than new ones.