Free Member
Dec 27, 2011
devon
Funster No
MH
coachbuilt
Exp
since jan 2011
Last time I used our motorhome we hooked up to the site mains but had no 12v power to anything,interior lights etc.Checked the leisure battery and it was discharged.Dont know if the problem is the zig x7 charger (it looks like the original so is about 15 years old) or the battery has just given up the ghost.Am tempted to a buy new charger (believe the X7 has been superceded by x70) But dont really want to pay £100 plus for a charger only to find it was the battery,any suggestions welcome.

Oct 12, 2011
West Sussex
Funster No
MH
Lowline
Exp
Since 2011 therefore I'm not a newbie anymore
Look at the hook up lead, it may not be putting through the power to charge the battereies.

Happened to us an a brand new caravan and lead. borrow someones spare lead for a few days then got the dealer to replace the lead.

If not lead then check charger.

hope this helps in some way

bob

scotjimland

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 25, 2007
Suffolk Coastal District, UK
Funster No
MH
Timberland
Well, the battery will be knackered.. so irrespective it will need replaced.

Replace it then check the output from the charger on the battery terminals.. should show more than 13vdc ..

If you only read the battery voltage around 12.6 then it may be a fuse in the charger.. or the 230v trip supplying the charger..

Don't buy a new charger until all avenues have been checked .. if unsure about checking voltages etc .. take to a dealer or auto electrician who can check and verify ..

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

OP
OP
hdvrod

hdvrod

Free Member
Dec 27, 2011
devon
Funster No
MH
coachbuilt
Exp
since jan 2011
Thanks Bob,dont think it was the lead as the 240v stuff was working.
Jim,cheers will follow your advice.:Smile:
By the way what amp battery should I go for?

scotjimland

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 25, 2007
Suffolk Coastal District, UK
Funster No
MH
Timberland
Thanks Bob,dont think it was the lead as the 240v stuff was working.