Free Member
Jan 21, 2012
cornwall
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
i'm a newbie
hello,just joined forum today.recently bought 1st motorhome,2001 hymer b584(noticed you have hymer, hence this msg).only been away for a couple of weekends so far,but i love my van despite teething problems and my woeful lack of knowledge about things mechanical and electrical (am female),not stupid but i just never learned this stuff. today i parked outside parents house to plug into electric (had new engine battery put in this week,yes old one died cos i left van too long) . anyway, plugged in and when i switched on 12 volt switch there was a constant sound which i thought was the cab heater fan but couldnt turn it off. when i switched off 12 vlt, the noise stopped with an accompanying click.did sound like noise was coming from dash area. also i dont know when to switch 12 volt on and off anyway re charging batteries. the seemingly comprehensive handbook uses terminology above my head and i wish i had someone to explain things,or could do a course or read a book i could understand. would so appreciate any tips and guidance.

Originally posted as a PM to Jim

Last edited by a moderator:

Hollyberry

LIFE MEMBER
Apr 24, 2011
New Forest.
Funster No
MH
None.
Exp
4yrs
Hi and welcome.
Can't help you, I'm afraid, as I'm in the same boat! It's fine having all the books--I got a boxful with mine--but a lot of the technical terms mean nothing to me either,
You'll get lots of advice here, so ask away, as there's always someone who knows the answer.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Upvote 0

stcyr

Free Member
Apr 11, 2011
Normandie
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
On & off, since 1966 - fulltime since 2005