Free Member
Nov 22, 2011
kent
Funster No
MH
minibus conversion
Exp
I'm a newbie
What sort of appliances can I expect to run on site hook up electric? Eg would it run a normal household 850 watt microwave? or a small oil filled radiator? Or a small electric grill that runs of a 13 Amp plug? All replies greatly appreciated.

gozomike

Funster Life Member
LIFE MEMBER
Mar 16, 2010
Warwickshire - sometimes - but not often
Funster No
MH
Wildax Constellation
Exp
Since August 2008
On most sites you will be able to run the appliances you mention ONE AT A TIME but some sites, mainly in mainland Europe, are limited to very few amps.

Stephen & Jeannie

Free Member
Aug 27, 2008
Gobowen near Oswestry !!
Funster No
MH
Sold and bought a Caravan
Exp
9 years !!!!
On a UK site the amps are probably around 16 so all of above are ok but not all at once !
Here in Spain I have 5 amps and it still runs a 2kw kettle but I don't have anything else on at the same time !!
Hope this helps..If I am wrong someone will correct me ! Stephen.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Mar 29, 2010
Hebden Bridge
Funster No
MH
Moto Trek Xcite EB
Exp
Since Sept 2011
A simple way to check is that Watts = volts x amps so if you have a 220 - 240 supply and a 16 amps then you can use up to 3520 - 3840 amps. This makes certain assumptions about the length and size of cable and the wiring in your motorhome. If on the other-hand you only have a 5 amp supply then you can only use 1100 - 1200 amps. If you try to pull too much electricity through you will blow a trip somewhere so don't worry too much it will just need to be reset.
Incidentally, as has been mentioned on here many times before, make sure your cable is unwound as heat can build up in the cable if you are pulling maximum power and it can catch on fire.

Stephen & Jeannie

Free Member
Aug 27, 2008
Gobowen near Oswestry !!
Funster No
MH
Sold and bought a Caravan
Exp
9 years !!!!