Feb 19, 2011
swansea
Funster No
MH
dont own one yet
Exp
im a newbie
Hello Everyone

Have been enjoying reading the posts and decided to subscribe.

After spending about 2 years on deciding whether or not to move from caravanning to motorhoming, we finally took the plunge and got some prices today. One dealer gave us a price on Bessacar and was all ready to make us sign on the dotted line, we walked and said we needed time to think.. thanks goodness for that as we went up the road to another dealer who enquired what licence my husband held.

We replied B +E (hubby passed post 97' and then took trailer test), we should have realised this but apparently hubby can only drive something under 3500kg :Blush:

Bit gutted really, one for being a dope and not thinking of it, and secondly as I had my heart set on a large rear lounge which I am told by the dealer are mainly on the 3500kg plus vans!

Somewhat narrows everything down. Are there many motorhomes out there under 3500kg We had a budget of 25-35k.

Anyone want to drag me out my sulk with some great advice or ideas (apart from hubby spending another £1000 on another test lol )

best wishes

lou
:thumb:

Jaws

LIFE MEMBER
Sep 26, 2008
Thetford Norfolk
Funster No
MH
C class, Chieftain
Exp
since 2006 ( I think ! )
Hi and welcome,
the dealer told you porkies.. There are WAY more motorhomes under 3.5t than over... And they come in every configuration imaginable too !

I am sure someone will be along shortly to make a few suggestions for you :)

rest assured you will get what you want sooner or later.. It really is a truism that there is a motorhome for everyone out there !
Just a matter of finding it :thumb:

hilldweller

LIFE MEMBER
Dec 5, 2008
Macclesfield
Funster No
MH
Zilch Mk1
Exp
From Aug 2007
I'll bet most MHs are under 3.5t. So many advantages in cost and where you can driver terms.

Just be careful on payload, some are a bit on the heavy side and you can't carry much before you cross the 3.5t limit.