Free Member
Jan 7, 2012
Portugal
Funster No
MH
A Class
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hi, just been reading up a bit about leisure batteries but I am not really understanding all of it. Our recently purchased motorhome is parked outside the house while we sort out insurance etc. If I were to hook up would this automatically charge/or keep charged the leisure battery?:Doh:

OP
OP
treasuredgiftsuk

treasuredgiftsuk

Free Member
Jan 7, 2012
Portugal
Funster No
MH
A Class
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hi treasure , it will do providing you switch the charger on. And there is a leisure battery present.
Mike

Hi Mike, yes I have a leisure battery fitted behind the driver seat, was told by the guy I bought it off that it is a new one, but not sure what you mean by switching the charger on.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Upvote 0

mikkidee

Free Member
Aug 1, 2010
Malton,North Yorks
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
Since June 08
There is usually a charging unit in one of the cupboards somewhere, ours is made by sargent,
hopefully someone with a van similar to yours will be along soon and let you know where to find it:Smile: Come on you lot
:whatthe:
Mike:Smile:

Upvote 0

jonandshell

Free Member
Dec 12, 2010
Norfolk
Funster No
MH
Not got one!
Exp
Since 2006
As a word of caution, do first identify the make and model of charger.
You can then look up the instructions and check that it is capable of delivering a maintenance charge.
If it doesn't do this, leaving the unit switched on might damage your battery.:Doh:

Upvote 0

pappajohn

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 26, 2007
Dark side of the moon
Funster No
Exp
Since 2005
if you're unsure if you can leave your particular charger turned on indefinitely, then just plug the van in for a couple of hours each week.

if nothing is turned on that will maintain your battery ok.

Upvote 0
OP
OP
treasuredgiftsuk

treasuredgiftsuk

Free Member
Jan 7, 2012
Portugal
Funster No
MH
A Class
Exp
I'm a newbie