Feb 19, 2008
Dark Side of the Moon
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
Since 2007
Stupid question time (again).

I may have to replace my battery charger and I have been advised that CTEK is the best(est)

Right, those who know me I am not a techie person, so I am looking towards you guys the 'font' of all knowledge as to what I want..,

Background, I have 2 X 80w solar panels
2 x 110amp lesiure batteries

So what CTEK am I looking for, its all confusing eg. 8-Stage blah blah

Thoughts would be appreciated.

ShiftZZ

Munchie

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 28, 2007
Camping Les Vigeres
Funster No
MH
Font Vendôme
Exp
Since 2004
My leisure batts are connected to the solars via the regulator direct. They just errr charge. :thumb:

Why do you need a charger?? :Doh:

OP
OP
ShiftZZ

ShiftZZ

LIFE MEMBER
Feb 19, 2008
Dark Side of the Moon
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
Since 2007
My leisure batts are connected to the solars via the regulator direct. They just errr charge. :thumb:

Why do you need a charger?? :Doh:

The onboard charger has gone 'munchie' no longer suitable (knackered) and the replacement is about £800 fitted.

On EHU the batteries would not charge and therefore could be a problem.

So I am looking for a replacement charger and £800 is just too much, hence the CTEK option.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

GJH

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 20, 2007
Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
Funster No
MH
None, now sold
Exp
2006 to 2022
AFAIK the CTEK range are "stand alone" chargers which plug into the mains and attach to the battery by crocodile clips - i.e. different from a built-in charger connected permanently to the battery and to the hook-up input.

Munchie

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 28, 2007
Camping Les Vigeres
Funster No
MH
Font Vendôme
Exp
Since 2004
Oi this munchie is not knackered just a bit "lived in" and frayed round the edges. !!!:Angry:

OP
OP
ShiftZZ

ShiftZZ

LIFE MEMBER
Feb 19, 2008
Dark Side of the Moon
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
Since 2007