Planning a route - Garmin Dezl T560 (1 Viewer)

Oct 12, 2011
West Sussex
Funster No
MH
Lowline
Exp
Since 2011 therefore I'm not a newbie anymore
Hi,

I have bought a Garmin Dezl t560 so I can switch between car and motorhome usage.

i have set A to B routes on it in the Uk and they work fine.

Dowever I want to set a route from Dunkirque to Interlaken in Switzerland and I am having great difficulty in doing it.

Has anyone had any experience of setting this type of route?

Cheers

Bob

OP
OP
Cyclewalkbob
Oct 12, 2011
West Sussex
Funster No
MH
Lowline
Exp
Thanks but yes, I bought the full western europe map version.

It is just annoying that on my old 10yr old tom tom it had the option of "did you want to avoid toll roads".

On the Garmin you can put in the end destination but am having difficulty in knowing how to ensure the route does not include toll motorways.

My wife is happy to map read ( giving me a big I told you so look) but it defeats the object of having a sat nav if i cannot set a route!!!!

I am sure it is me, otherwise there I am sure we would have heard that there was a problem

Cheers

bob

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

pappajohn

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 26, 2007
Dark side of the moon
Funster No
Exp
Since 2005
probably settable in the parameters menu like with TomTom.

you will need to scroll through the menu's to find it but with a route that long it may be better to accept tolls and then re-route as you approach them.

to avoid a 10 mile toll may take you 20/30 miles off route.

Nov 12, 2010
Northamptonshire
Funster No
MH
Hi Top
Exp
5 Years
Avoiding Toll Roads

If its the same as the several Garmins I've had under the menu - settings - navigation menu you will find a button marked "avoidances". Click on that and you will be presented with a number of things to avoid, toll roads is one of them.

Hope that helps
Martin
:Smile:

OP
OP
Cyclewalkbob
Oct 12, 2011
West Sussex
Funster No
MH
Lowline
Exp