New thread for new approach. Full upgrade. (1 Viewer)

Jun 26, 2022
Mallorca, Spain
Funster No
MH
Benimar sport 340
Exp
Benimar sport 340
Any advice is welcome, I am very new to this and am learning by reading.

Sorry for the long post but I want to give as much information as possible.

I have made some upgrades to the existing system:

I replaced the old PWM controler with:
A Victron MPPT 150 l 60 Tr (with upgrading in mind).

I have added:
A Victron Smart Battery Sense.
A Victron SmartShunt 1000A.
A Victron Cerbo GX.

I have the original 3 x 100AH Gell batteries, a split charge relay and a large fuse.

I have 2 (Missmatched) x 100w solar panels on the roof.

I have a 3000w inverter.

2 of the batteries are under the front seat. The third battery is under a seat in the lounge area, behing the front seat. The inverter us also under this lounge seat.

The controler is in the wardrobe, with the house fuse box, the shore power battery charger and the shore power trip fuse. About 2.5m to 3m away from the lounge seat.

The Smart Battery Sense and the Smart Shunt are showing 12.02v but when I put the multimeter on the Controller "Battery" connections, that is reading 13.3v.

The solar Watts have been low and the battery voltage has not gone above 12v very often (on the Victron displays). I'm too far from any AC, to plug in and give the batteries a good charge.

Earlier I was concerned that the battery voltage was too low, so I started the engine.

It seemed that the controler liked that and all of a sudden, the solar Watts came up and it was charging the batteries.

When I turned the engine off, it went back to normal, with low solar Watts and little charging, although the batteries have more volts.

I'm thinking that there is a cable problem. I could understand the controler reading less volts but reading more is very confusing.