Ringleader
Jul 19, 2007
Sutton on Sea, UK
Funster No
MH
Adria Panel Van.
Exp
Since 1988
I was speaking to someone at a meet who told me he uses an electric tube greenhouse heater for when the temp drops to zero. Anyone else use one of these? I have never used anything before as I use the motorhome through the winter, but the last two week cold spell caused wood to swell and warp.

Are they worth it, are they expensive to run?

old-mo

Funster
Extra Special
LIFE MEMBER
Oct 16, 2008
Weymouth. Dorset...
Funster No
MH
Nearly aint got one.
Exp
Caravan & motorhome 45 + yrs
We use a "Deloghi" oil filled radiator, Jim..

On the lowest setting once the oil is hot it is very economical, and just takes the chill off..

Probably waisting electric but just leave roof vent open a fraction.. :thumb:

JeanLuc

Free Member
Nov 17, 2008
Warwickshire
Funster No
MH
Hymer B630 Star-Line
Exp
Since 2007
When it looks as though we are in for a prolonged cold spell, I use the 500W version of the Dimplex heater in the link below. Similar idea to a greenhouse heater (in fact Dimplex list this as a possible application) but it is perhaps more stable when free-standing. We also take it away with us if we know we will be on a hook-up when the temperature is below freezing.
<< Dimplex MPH 500 >>

p.s. this is a much lighter solution than an oil-filled rad.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Last edited:

hilldweller

LIFE MEMBER
Dec 5, 2008
Macclesfield
Funster No
MH
Zilch Mk1
Exp
From Aug 2007
Watt for watt all electric heaters cost the same, all are 100% efficient.

I once used one to keep a walk in wardrobe aired, the surface got so hot it could burn clothing.

Use a conventional heater, much easier though not without problems. Even with enough heat it does not mean the heat protects pipes in the various voids. Lots of cold corners and the top is all hot.

Jimscotland does not like fan heaters.

Feb 22, 2008
Norfolk
Funster No
MH
Nearly Tugging
Exp
Since 2004