Oct 12, 2011
cannock chase
Funster No
MH
low line
Exp
im a newbie
hi funsters,
which is the better option for carrying cycles,?

1. to have a cycle rack bolted to the rear of the motorhome .

2. to have a towbar fitted and have a cycle rack fitted on the tow ball.

your advice will be appreciated.
regards pete.:thumb:

bobandjanie

LIFE MEMBER
Apr 28, 2008
Javea, Spain
Funster No
MH
Pilote V600g
Exp
Hi, option 3 get a van with a garage. :winky::ROFLMAO:

I think your best bet would be :Smile: 2 to have a towbar fitted and have a cycle rack fitted on the tow ball.

But it will cost the most, but if you ever wanted to tow anything you would have a towbar, and if you wanted electric bikes they are stronger and lower to lift them on and off.

I have one that fits on my car and its very secure and the bikes lock on it, doing 70mph and nothing moves great bit of kit. :thumb: Bob.

Upvote 0
OP
OP
hedgefordpete

hedgefordpete

Free Member
Oct 12, 2011
cannock chase
Funster No
MH
low line
Exp
im a newbie
hi bob, thanks for the advice, that is the way that i am looking to jump.
i will be at the dealers tomorrow so i will check on their prices for fitting.
then i can shop around for prices.

regards pete.:thumb:

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Upvote 0

MikeandCarolyn

Free Member
Mar 18, 2008
Worle,North Somerset
Funster No
MH
Coachbuilt
Exp
Since 2009
Hi, option 3 get a van with a garage. :winky::ROFLMAO:

I think your best bet would be :Smile: 2 to have a towbar fitted and have a cycle rack fitted on the tow ball.

But it will cost the most, but if you ever wanted to tow anything you would have a towbar, and if you wanted electric bikes they are stronger and lower to lift them on and off.
. :thumb: Bob.

Good thinking,we are about to get electric bikes and I did have concerns about the height of our current rack. I do have a Thule tow bar fitting rack for the car.

Mike

Upvote 0

peter marshall

Free Member
Mar 5, 2009
Cleveleys,Lancashire
Funster No
MH