Total newbie,love the idea of a motorhome but,Is this normal? (1 Viewer)

jazzert100

Free Member
Oct 19, 2011
central
Funster No
MH
just looking
Exp
We have rented a 10 plate Rolllerteam 656,42 k, 130bhp and are not sure if this is normal?
Is it really loud and rattly over all but the smoothest of surfaces?
Are other motorhomes quieter, is it the design of this particular model?
Is 24 to the galllon normal cruising at 60?
Is it really scary in crosswinds on the M6?
I had a1992 model caravan and it seems to share much of the same fixtures and fittings as this 35k 2010 motorhome,notably the dodgy blind/flyscreen arrangement that stuck and jammed then and still do,not to mention,the badly fitting door that requires a major slam to shut.
Are the travelling seats meant to be totally upright, badly padded and uncomfortable?
Were we expecting too much?
I have to say the Fiat part of it is very nice,smooth and perky with a light gearchange and steering but usually drowned out by the noise of the camper!
Would a 50k coachbuilt be quieter,I notice a lot of them come with only the 100bhp engine so I am guessing they might be a bit gutless.
Anyway whilst I love the idea of a motorhome I have to say the reality so far has been a bit of a shock.
I realise that this is very much entry level territory but seriously, will spending 50 k be so much better?
I welcome any comments as to what type of motorhome I should be looking at,something quiet and refined is what I am after, would a van conversion be better?

thanks

J

wivvy's dad

Free Member
Jun 22, 2010
Funster No
MH
Transit LWB Hi-Top PVC
Exp
On and Off since '98
Whilst I have no personal knowledge of the m/h you have rented, I would imagine that compared to a car, motorhomes of any description are noisy. We have become used to very very quiet motorcars, so jumping into what is in effect, a big white van, will come as a bit of a shock.