Chic C-line 4.8 2014 squeaky noises from pull down bed (1 Viewer)

Jan 24, 2020
Budapest, Hungary
Funster No
MH
Carthago Chic C-line
Exp
I'm a newbie
New Carthago owner here, so be kind to me pls...:)

So, after a 1996 Hymer B544, then a 2012 Dethleffs Globe4 now I decided to step up, and bought a 2014 Chic C-line 4.8 in Italy (I'm from Hungary).

Although the car is as sturdy as you can expect from a Carthago, the drop down bed gives me headache...

I'm overly sensitive to noises, so these squeaky, quirky noises coming above my head will drive me crazy, for sure.

Anyone here who could help me where to look, what to grease, what to align ot tighten?

Thanks!

ps.

Jul 6, 2016
West Sussex
Funster No
MH
Carthago Chic A clas
Exp
Since 1990
Welcome to MHFun.

Regarding the overbed bed:
1) make sure the shoot-bolts either side of the bed fully extend into the plastic catch
2) the control wire attached to the shoot-bolts should be slightly slack when in the locked position
3) the plastic catch can get worn. If so, it can be reversed on it's mounting.

I know of one owner who bought a couple of small inflatable bags and inflated them either side between bed and bodywork. This prevents any sideways movement. I'm thinking of trying this myself as I very rarely need to use the overhead bed.

OP
OP
LCD72
Jan 24, 2020
Budapest, Hungary
Funster No
MH
Carthago Chic C-line
Exp
I'm a newbie
Thanks, I'll take a closer look on the mentioned parts!

The bag method would be slightly inconvenient, I'v got two kids to sleep there.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Minxy

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 22, 2007
E Yorks
Funster No
MH
Carthago Compactline
Exp
Since 1996, had Elddis/Swift/Rapido/Rimor/Chausson MHs. Autocruise/Globecar PVCs/Compactline i-138
We had the same issue but on the passenger side of the bed, hubby put some rubber sleeve on the 'pins' and adjusted the catches, no rattle now.

Also:

OP
OP
LCD72
Jan 24, 2020
Budapest, Hungary
Funster No
MH
Carthago Chic C-line
Exp