Free Member
Oct 6, 2011
cumbria
Funster No
MH
don't own one yet
Exp
I'm a newbie
I have bought the book the motorhome buyers guide. Seems to be very helpful.

I phoned about a m/h that i was interested in buying. It looked like it was a private sale, but, he said he was selling it for his brother, and later he said he bought and sold a few m/h. So according to the book I should leave well alone. BUT, does this mean that the m/h is dodgy or is it the seller that is a bit dodgy and just trying to avoid a little bit of tax and vat etc. This is my first try at buying privately and I am slightly put off. Help and advice please.

Nov 30, 2009
Pickering
Funster No
MH
PVC the PUG
Exp
Since 2009 with motorhomes several caravans then tents before that.
Anne , if i had someone with me who knew about engines and what to look out for , we had a damp meter etc , and the seller had all the previous history of the van , I would be confident.
If there was just me there , put it this way , i'd walk away.:winky:
Bev

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Upvote 0

RKE

Free Member
Sep 21, 2011
Somerset
Funster No
MH
Just sold ours!
Exp

I phoned about a m/h that i was interested in buying. It looked like it was a private sale, but, he said he was selling it for his brother, and later he said he bought and sold a few m/h. So according to the book I should leave well alone. BUT, does this mean that the m/h is dodgy or is it the seller that is a bit dodgy and just trying to avoid a little bit of tax and vat etc. This is my first try at buying privately and I am slightly put off. Help and advice please.

I agree with the 'book' !.... My gut instinct would be to leave well alone!

Upvote 0
OP
OP
A

ann01

Free Member
Oct 6, 2011
cumbria
Funster No
MH
don't own one yet
Exp
I'm a newbie
Anne , if i had someone with me who knew about engines and what to look out for , we had a damp meter etc , and the seller had all the previous history of the van , I would be confident.