buy from a dealer or private sale. (1 Viewer)

ann01

Free Member
Oct 6, 2011
cumbria
Funster No
MH
don't own one yet
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hi, my first post. I am looking to buy CI carioca 694 probably second hand. Handing over a large sum of money to a stranger seems a little bit spooky, what are the pit falls of buying from a private sale, and do you think a carioca would be a good buy for a complete novice.

old-mo

Funster
Extra Special
LIFE MEMBER
Oct 16, 2008
Weymouth. Dorset...
Funster No
MH
Nearly aint got one.
Exp
Caravan & motorhome 45 + yrs
Swings and round abouts really..

You may get a good deal privatley... but there again a dealer will normally offer some warranty..

And if he didn`t and I was handing over a lot of my hard earnt cash then I would go else where..

Privatley unless there is the remainder of manufacturers warranty.... Take some one who does no the in`s & out`s of a motorhome... and give it a thorough going over and see every thing working...

And do the usual checks HPI, see the original sales invoice to see if HP was taken out or a loan secured on the vehicle..

And knock them down a few quid.. :winky:

Good luck.. :thumb:

Upvote 0

hilldweller

LIFE MEMBER
Dec 5, 2008
Macclesfield
Funster No
MH
Zilch Mk1
Exp
From Aug 2007
Handing over a large sum of money to a stranger seems a little bit spooky

Preferable to knocking them on the head with a brick and running off with it.

Many dealers seem to be crooks at heart, on the whole most people aren't. Anyone with a well cared for MH they've owned a while is likely to be totally decent folk.

You've just got to be vigilant and sensible.

Any motorhome is OK for a novice, it's not rocket science running one. You should see some of the people in here that manage it.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Upvote 0

haganap

LIFE MEMBER
Dec 5, 2007
planet earth
Funster No
MH
Carthago C Tourer
Exp
I'm an oldbie MH number 9