Another question for you knowledgeable people. (1 Viewer)

Sep 10, 2011
West Midlands
Funster No
MH
Laika Ecovip 309
Exp
since 2011 but years in a caravan
Another question for you knowledgeable people.
We think we have found the motor home we have been looking for, more on this later.
Now we have agreed a price we would like to get the AA or someone to check it over especially as I will have to drive it back and that’s a 3 1\2 hour drive back home.
We spent 5 hours on a hot day checking it out but although I drove it down the motorway and back and it droved along at 60 without missing a beat I’m no mechanic.
I have checked the AA website out and they will check out Motor homes up to 3500 but the one im looking at is 3800. http://www.theaa.com/vehicle-inspections/index.html
Can you let me know if you have ever had one checked out and who you would recommend?
Many thanks
John

OP
OP
John-Laika
Sep 10, 2011
West Midlands
Funster No
MH
Laika Ecovip 309
Exp
I would ask the AA anyway, as the same vehicle could have been plated at 3500kg. Check with them and I wouldn't be surprised if they would do it.
Thanks nearlyretired, :thumb:have you used them, would you reccomend them?

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Upvote 0

haganap

LIFE MEMBER
Dec 5, 2007
planet earth
Funster No
MH
Niesman+Bischoff 79e
Exp
I'm an oldbie MH number 10
Hi John, it might help if we knew what van it is?
If it is a Ducato what age?

When I got mine, I was more interested in the habitation side of things. I therefore got CLS (a member on here) to go and do a habitation check to rule out any damp problems before I went ahead. He done a detailed inspection of the van including all gas appliances electrics etc. I don't know where you are purchasing the van from, but there are a few members whom carry out that sort of service around the country, or you could locate one through the MCEA http://www.mobilecaravanengineers.co.uk/.