Which is better ?Diesel or Petrol/LPG for fuel economy (1 Viewer)

Jask

Free Member
Sep 29, 2011
Birmingham
Funster No
MH
just looking
Exp
I'm a newbie
I'm thinking of buying an American RV .Being a truck driver i have all way's favored Diesel engine vehicles .I have been told by a few ppl that petrol/Lpg Rv's are a better option .Why is this the case .I would have a thought that if you intend to do alot of mileage then Diesel would be the best option .Any advice would be much appreciated .:Smile:

Snowbird

LIFE MEMBER
Apr 24, 2009
Liverpool.
Funster No
MH
Fifth wheel.
Exp
Since 11-05-2000
Depends on were your traveling to. LPG is not much use in Spain as its difficult to get hold of. In North Africa its impossible. If your a HGV driver you don't need me to tell you about the longevity and reliability of a large oil burner.
Am a lover of the diesel engine as I understand it. Too many electrical components to go wrong on a petrol engine for my liking. Having said that, Each to there own. Cummins has always been king in my book and always will be.

Upvote 0

chatter

Free Member
Aug 3, 2009
cheshire
Funster No
MH
5th wheel
Exp
10+
the only reason i can think off well 2 reasons
1. lpg is cheaper than petrol or derv
2. run on lpg in london to avoid the lez so i have been told

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Upvote 0

Sundowners

LIFE MEMBER
Oct 30, 2007
Suffolk/Central Portugal
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
37 years
Hi
the smaller RVs don't often come with diesel motors---so petrol/lpg is only option with them.
American diesels are not THAT good on fuel-------LPG conversion is expensive---AND has more electronics to go wrong.
I love diesels (especially Cummins)----so, for me if it didn't run on diesel,
I'm not interested.
We have run Range Rover/Discovery/V8 Landrover on LPG, so have some experience of it, fuel is taxed less than petrol, so running on LPG can be cheaper (when we ran the Land Rovers on LPG it was cheaper than similar vehicle on diesel)