Propex and China Heater installation (1 Viewer)

Sep 10, 2021
North Devon, UK
Funster No
MH
Renault Master 2.5 T
I'm new to Campervans and Motorhomes having sailed and worked on small yachts for the past 65 years (mainly out of Falmouth). Hoping for a 'simpler', less physically demanding (and less costly) hobby with a bit of adventure attached to it, we've reluctantly sold our sailboat and bought a relatively low mileage 1998 Renault Master MWB high top van conversion, equipped with a chunky 2.5 turbo (retrofit) Diesel. Sounds a bit like a bus at low speeds, but otherwise seems like a very substantial, albeit unsophisticated unit. Starts and pulls well, but I suspect it'll 'guzzle' fuel if pressed!
Prior to our ownership, the van had been in the same family ownership since 2001 with very light usage covering an average of less than 3k miles a year. However, as I work my way through it's bits and pieces, I'm beginning to see the similarity between campervanning and yachting ie you can go on forever spending money on 'vans' and there's no end of 'tinkering and fixing' to do!
The van, is pretty well equipped for 'off grid'. However, the Propex Malaga 3/3E water heater only works on mains (via an immersion element) - it doesn't work on gas as it's designed to do. Problem - I won't mess about with 'gas' and am finding it impossible to find an engineer with Propex experience to sort it out. I live near Okehampton, Devon, and will happily drive wherever necessary (within reason). Does any MHF member have any suitable contact please?