Free Member
Aug 28, 2011
Cornwall
Funster No
MH
C Class
Exp
I'm a newbie
What exactly is a habitation certificate and who does the habitation check to provide such a certificate. If a dealer says they will do a habitation check, does that mean we can expect to be given a certificate from someone independent which shows that everything is in working order? Thanks

OP
OP
D

Demelza

Free Member
Aug 28, 2011
Cornwall
Funster No
MH
C Class
Exp
I'm a newbie
Yes you are quite right you do get a list of what has been done.:winky:
But who does these checks - the seller or someone independent and are they worth the paper they are written on?

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

pappajohn

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 26, 2007
Dark side of the moon
Funster No
Exp
Since 2005
What exactly is a habitation certificate and who does the habitation check to provide such a certificate. If a dealer says they will do a habitation check, does that mean we can expect to be given a certificate from someone independent which shows that everything is in working order? Thanks
No, the certificate will be filled in by the person or dealer who did the check...not an independant body.

the hab check should include a Gas safety check, an electrical safety check and a damp check as a priority and many other checks as well.

many dealers and independant traders will perform a habitation check....some will even come to your home or work place for a fee.
many do hab checks 'on the spot' at the various motorhome shows

it isnt a legal requirement (though, for gas in particular, it should be) but is advisable on safety grounds, as well as catching any unseen problems early....damp is a motorhome killer.

OP
OP
D

Demelza

Free Member
Aug 28, 2011
Cornwall
Funster No
MH
C Class
Exp
I'm a newbie
This will give you chapter and verse

Link Removed

Link Removed