Uk rules for lying down while on the road (1 Viewer)

motojc

Free Member
Aug 15, 2021
Funster No
MH
just looking
We’re looking into a motor home if my health improves but currently I’m unable to sit for longer than 5 minutes. Is there any loophole where you can lie in a bed but belted maybe while the motor home is on the road? We’re in England so mainly Uk rules but if my health allows we would eventually be looking to travel further

Feb 14, 2021
Milton Keynes, UK
Funster No
MH
Burstner Lyseo 727G
Exp
19 month year 18000 miles UK, Ireland, France, Spain, Germany, Italy. Campsites and off Grid.
No not legal. You need to be in forward facing seat with seat belts.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

GJH

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 20, 2007
Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
Funster No
MH
None, now sold
Exp
2006 to 2022
Aug 20, 2020
Cheshire
Funster No
MH
Lunar Home Car P59
Exp
I'm a newbie
My wife just goes to bed if she wants . Is it legal ,I don't think so?
She also sleeps with the seat reclined which isn't recommended,nor legal I believe . Certainly not here in spain. .

From what I've seen of caravans turning to matchwood in a crash if she's lying on the bed and you crash I can't see that ending well

Oct 2, 2008
Salopia
Funster No
MH
Duro 6x6 Overlander
Exp
since 1968
From what I've seen of caravans turning to matchwood in a crash if she's lying on the bed and you crash I can't see that ending well
I don't see you being a whole lot better off in the rear wearing a seatbelt in a designated seat . :)

The Gov advice as so often seems to be a bit based on "If" "maybe" "could" to get to what is not actually a cast iron prohibition . I have seen licenced school buses with side ways facing seats fitted with seat belts , passed by DVSA .

Nov 3, 2013
Portugal
Funster No
MH
Fiat Ducato Auto Wildax
Exp
C/van since '73 .M/h.2009
Hi.