Free Member
Aug 5, 2011
Calne
Funster No
MH
just looking
Exp
im a newbie
is it a viable option to install a table top fridge ,a class energy rating,into a self build for permanant use,using inverter.found one with a power use of 0.38kw per 24 hours.:Smile:

rainbow chasers

Free Member
Oct 30, 2009
Mid Cornwall
Funster No
MH
Various
Exp
I wouldn't say it was worth the bother to be honest! If you are concerned with the costings of a new fridge, there are plenty of 3 ways on ebay or local paper and the like.

If you have a mains fridge through an inverter, you would have constantly drained batteries, overheated inverters from being run so long etc. Just go 3 way - cheaper and less agro in the long run - a used one can be picked up fairly cheaply!

scotjimland

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 25, 2007
Funster No
MH
A Woosh bang
Power consumption is .38kw at 12v = 31.66ah

Unless you have a large battery bank and a solar array to match .. I'd say no, this will almost flatten an 80ah battery in 24hrs..

Second point, domestic fridges are not as rugged as proper caravan fridges.. so again I'd say no.

A better option is a 12v compressor fridge but again will need to size the battery and solar panel to match the consumption ..

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

OP
OP
D

dabber

Free Member
Aug 5, 2011
Calne
Funster No
MH
just looking
Exp
im a newbie
thanks for the replys will start looking on ebay.:Smile:

JJ

Mágica
May 1, 2008
Quinta Majay, Pinheiro Bordalo, Portugal
Funster No
MH
Burstner Privilege T
Exp
over 50 years
Hi Dabber...

For what it is worth I have some experience in this matter.

I currently use both a self-build with a compressor fridge and a classic Hymer with a three way fridge.

The huge advantage of a compressor fridge is the ease of fitting it. No vents, drop holes and no gas piping... plus you have an bigger choice of where you place it in your layout and you do not have to be so careful about parking level.