Fridge on solar (1 Viewer)

Jan 27, 2018
Northampton
Funster No
MH
Rapido & Bongone
Recently I've read some old threads even back to 2014 about running a fridge on solar power. Now i have an aes fridge votronics solar controller with aes control. Slight problem i cant find the S+ connector and it has been said that it wont work with a cbe box that supplies the 12v power from the hab battery (this needs D+). Snowbird Techno used a diode on a D+ line at the CBE box, what diode and which way around? Also any thing controlled by the D+ will also be on, i have a votronics 1230 b2b what effect will the aes have on it. Is it just a question of connecting the aes on the solar controller to the D+ at the cbe300.
Have i enough solar, 550w, should be.

Apr 27, 2016
Manchester
Funster No
MH
A class Hymer
Exp
Since the 80s
I'm not an expert on this, but I can see the general idea. If the solar controller AES output is simply fed to the fridge D+ control, the fridge will work OK but as you say the D+ will feed back so that everything else on the D+ will be activated. You can solve that by cutting the connection between the fridge D+ and the other D+ circuits. However that in turn will mean the fridge will not turn on from the standard D+ when the engine starts.

A diode (electrical one-way valve) between the fridge D+ and the other D+ circuits will allow the engine D+ to pass through, but will block the solar controller D+ from feeding back to the other D+ circuits.

The D+ is a low-current circuit, so a low-power diode will be good enough.

OP
OP
the1andonly
Jan 27, 2018
Northampton
Funster No
MH
Rapido & Bongone
Thanks autorouter i think i now understand what i need to do in terms of sussing what the D+ ive tapped into is, ie the feed from the alternator or feed to fridge.
Fuse 10 is simulated D+ exit.
Item 16 white wire is D+ signal i used for b2b..so votronics feed to fridge side and diode to connector/ b2b.