Jul 4, 2011
Kent
Funster No
MH
Coach-built
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hi folks!

I'm new here, and new to motorhoming. I haven't actually bought one yet, but the money's there - ready and waiting. And I've seen a couple that I'm interested in. I'm going more for the van conversion type because it's more practical for me in many senses, but mainly size and convenience. I don't need a lounge on wheels. Just as long as it's comfortably fitted out and has got cooking and showering facilities.

Okay, though... here's the issue. The two I've seen are more or less identical (same year, same price, same overall condition) - except one is petrol and the other diesel.

The petrol one is an Autosleeper Symphony, 2.0 litre, 1997, 35,000 miles (I think the condition bears out that it isn't second time around!).

The diesel one is a Swift Mondial, 1.9 TD, 1997, 63,000 miles.

I'm on a budget, so want to keep running costs as low as possible. The salesman for the petrol one told me I'll get 'a bit under 30 mpg', whereas the diesel will probably give more and have a tougher engine. But then diesel's dearer than petrol (though the differential isn't as much as it was).

Any thoughts and suggestions to help me decide would be greatly appreciated, thanks.

Stan :Smile:

Snowbird

LIFE MEMBER
Apr 24, 2009
Liverpool.
Funster No
MH
Fifth wheel.
Exp
Since 11-05-2000
Firstly I don't know of any 2 litre petrol engined van that will do 30 MPG.
Secondly the service cost are generally lower on a diesel as you don't have spark plugs etc to change.
Thirdly the resale price of the diesel will be better than the petrol engined one.
If you intend doing a large millage the diesel will be more reliable and because its a heavier duty engine than its petrol counterpart it is capable of a higher mileage.
Having said all of the above am sure someone will say differently,especially if they own a petrol engined camper.

dylan

Free Member
Aug 31, 2007
sw wales
Funster No
MH
none
Exp
n/a