Amateur handyman wants LED strip lights (1 Viewer)

streetdaddy

Free Member
Mar 13, 2011
London
Funster No
MH
Coachbuilt
Exp
I'm a newbie
Let me start by saying I know very-little-to-nothing about electrical wiring, so this may be a doomed endeavour before I've even started...

I want to put in some LED strip lighting along the back of a strip of wood that runs along side windows of my van. I have unscrewed a box above one of my saloon spotlights to get at the wiring, and what I'm wondering is: can I somehow power the LED strip lighting from the wires that are already going to the saloon spotlight? For example, put some sort of splitter so I can plug more lights into the same set of wiring...

Any tips or links are appreciated... even if your tip is to leave it alone! :RollEyes:

Geo

Trader - Funster
Jul 29, 2007
Mansfield,Notts
Funster No
MH
Autotrail Tracker FB
Exp
45 +years with breaks
Yes you can, just use electrical connecter blocks if out of site :thumb:
Dont forget to put a seperate switch in line though if you want them to work independantly of other lights:Doh:
And dont go putting multiple strips from the same source without finding out what the cables are good for amps wise, 1 strip of leds should be ok from eack spot as they are very low powered
Geo

slobadoberbob

Free Member
Jun 1, 2009
Kent, garden of England
Funster No
MH
Winnebago 23' something
Exp
25 years & counting
a lot of us have replaced the bulbs in the motorhomes

A lot of us have over time replaced the bulbs in the motorhome (ours is a Winnibago Aspect RV) .. RV's are just the same ... we have put led replacement bulbs in to reduce the drain that normal bulbs have on the habitation batteries. Not cheap, they work out around £9to £10 each.. I have change around 20 of them.