12V plug - what can I use it for? (1 Viewer)

streetdaddy

Free Member
Mar 13, 2011
London
Funster No
MH
Coachbuilt
Exp
I'm a newbie
New to the motorhoming thing obviously and I have this 12V plug in the van that I assume is wired to the leisure battery, and i'm not sure what I can do with it...

$(KGrHqN,!jkE1I92hRnkBN(kEejY8w~~0_12.JPG

The sort of things I want to charge are pretty standard ie. mobile phones and laptops

Also, if I want to buy, for example, a mobile phone charging cable that plugs into the 12V plug, what search term should I be using? I always get results for cables that plug into the cigarette lighter adapter and that's going to the engine battery, right?

I have read about these inverter things as well, can you get ones that plug into the 12V plug? If anyone can recommend one it would be appreciated. :thumb:

Thanks in advance for any tips. Sorry if I'm reposting, I did have a good search on the forum first and couldn't find anything that succinctly answered my questions...

Oct 27, 2007
Near Dartford
Funster No
MH
Hymer
Exp
Since 2005
Hi

You can buy a plug that fits into the socket that has a cigarette lighter bit on the end of it. These will then charge through the leisure battery.
They are about £5. Im sure that someone will come along and give you more information.

Sonja

Tommy_harry

Free Member
May 30, 2010
County Durham
Funster No
MH
c class
Exp
2 days
You can get an adaptor to convert it to a cigar lighter fitting to allow you to charge your mobile phone from a standard car charger- something like this Link Removed

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Loujess

Free Member
Jan 10, 2010
Leeds UK
Funster No
MH
none
Exp
We have one like that and use a lead from the tv to that socket when we are on 12v. ::bigsmile:

Ivy

Geo

Trader - Funster
Jul 29, 2007
Mansfield,Notts
Funster No
MH
Autotrail Tracker FB
Exp
45 +years with breaks