May 26, 2011
Ludlow
Funster No
MH
Fiat/Benimar 7000 A Top
Exp
two
Another one...!

Is it worth the £20-odd for the Aires guide to France (the green annual thing produced by Camping-Car magazine, I know its available on amazon.fr) - or is it worth investing in a broader Europe-wide guide (we intend to meander thru France, Spain, Italy, usual suspects) which will probably be a bit thinner on detail? I've heard the former is a good guide - I understand about camp sites, aires however new to me.
I can "do" French so don't need spoonfed, and hope to use occasional wifi (I know there's a couple of good sites for aires) but I'm old-fashioned and like books/maps!

Any opinions/suggestions?

PS any other novices looking at this check out "heyuplov"s recent post on Aires in Continental Touring forum for pics - v useful!!:thumb:

Mar 21, 2009
Harwich, Essex
Funster No
MH
C Class
Exp
4 years
Being complete beginners we bought this the first time we went to France 2 years ago. Found it failry useful in that we would head for an Aire listed in the book and usually find several we could choose from in the area. There are not that many listed. We found the POI for aires that we installed in our TOMTOM more valuable than the book. It would bleep everytime an aire was in the vicinity and if we wanted to stop we'd head for that. For some reason this has stopped working now but we are buying a new Sat Nav (not much more than the cost of TomTom map updates!) and are getting a Garmin so hopefully we can install POI on that.
Going to France for July so already looking at maps & books and getting very excited.

Upvote 0

Heyupluv

Free Member
Oct 7, 2008
France,
Funster No
MH
A Class
Exp
touring many years..42+

PS any other novices looking at this check out "Heyupluv"s recent post on Aires in Continental Touring forum for pics - v useful!!:thumb:[/QUOTE]

Thank you that is very kind for the above....(keep checking as I update the link when I can)