Solar Panel Fixing (1 Viewer)

Aug 25, 2009
Newhey
Funster No
MH
Carthago
Exp
I have just bought a solar panel etc but am slightly nervous about the sikaflex only method of fixing. Is this the norm and if so do I use 221,252 or 512? Tales of "no it's fine" most welcome.
The electrical side isn't a problem as I'm an Electrical Engineer ::bigsmile:

Douglas

Free Member
Aug 22, 2008
South Wales,
Funster No
Exp
6 years + 5 years in boat before that
I have just bought a solar panel etc but am slightly nervous about the sikaflex only method of fixing. Is this the norm and if so do I use 221,252 or 512? Tales of "no it's fine" most welcome.
The electrical side isn't a problem as I'm an Electrical Engineer ::bigsmile:

I too would feel nervous about that method, on some vans, IE my Swift, there is a top layer of aluminium that is only attached where there through fitting on the roof, so is is not bonded to the body of the roof.

My thoughts are that as you drive over bumps is the weight of the panel/s lifting and flexing the aluminium top skin.

On my own van I have a roof rack that is screwed into the body of the roof and the panels are mechanically attached to that, I also have a hinged fitting so the the panel can be lifted to collect more of the suns energy

However there must be hundreds if not thousands of vans with stick on panels and I have nor heard of any problems.

Doug...

Snowbird

LIFE MEMBER
Apr 24, 2009
Liverpool.
Funster No
MH
Fifth wheel.
Exp
Since 11-05-2000
Have had panels stuck on my RV for about 6 years without problems.

Have even heard that they stick car body panels on with the stuff so must be OK.

Would NEVER drill a hole in the roof of a camper for any reason.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

keith

Free Member
Aug 25, 2007
Ecclefechan
Funster No
MH
Autocruise Starseeker
Exp
Caravaning since 1974 - Motorhoming since 2003
The motorhome builders drill holes in the roof all the time, TV ariel, roof vents, air con, roof bars etc.