Best route planner App for cycling routes (1 Viewer)

Jane And Rog

LIFE MEMBER
Jan 19, 2019
Ashford, Kent
Funster No
MH
Adria Twin 640 SGX
Exp
Since 2017
Mapout is a paid iPad & iPhone app that is very good - one off cost and no subscription. The maps are excellent and it’s very easy to draw routes with your finger - it follows footpaths and roads.

I like Ride with GPS but you need to sub to save routes. Mapout exports GPXes which I load to my wahoo. Have a look on the website, there’s a good demo.

Jane And Rog

LIFE MEMBER
Jan 19, 2019
Ashford, Kent
Funster No
MH
Adria Twin 640 SGX
Exp
Since 2017
Mapout shows the national cycle paths too.

E478AFDF-EAD5-4C63-97E8-EF71CAC6E96A.png

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

kevenh

Free Member
Jun 1, 2019
Thatcham
Funster No
MH
Compass C-Class
Exp
I'm a Progressing Newbie
from a post above https://cycle.travel/map has routing & a gpx export for free.
I’ve only looked due to that post and haven’t used it for my own routing.

edit: and will route on bridle paths 👍🏻
619BF091-37FA-46E0-9B12-3229B8409AE9.png

Jane And Rog

LIFE MEMBER
Jan 19, 2019
Ashford, Kent
Funster No
MH
Adria Twin 640 SGX
Exp
Since 2017
But not the bridleways.
Phil

Yes it does? It’s open street map, so as good as they are. Not OS maps, but the ease of drawing a route makes it better to use. I have definitely routed on footpaths for my walks.

Last edited:
Jan 16, 2017
Hillingdon
Funster No
MH
Vantage Med
Exp
Since 2017
It really depends on what type of riding you wish to do. I use Komoot which can also find some really good off-road routes and is easy to use. It is a bit like a satnav for bikes but does use a lot of phone battery power. For long rides I have a backup battery pack. You can input your wishes regarding type of terrain you wish to ride from roads to off-road and your bike type and fitness. I tried Strava but didn’t get on with it.