Battery charging whilst on hook-up (1 Viewer)

TonyMH

Free Member
Oct 11, 2010
Epsom Surrey
Funster No
MH
Coachbuilt
Exp
since Oct 2010
Hi All ,

I'm fairly new to Motor-Homing having bought a Compass Calypso in October 2010 and have only had a 2 night outing so far. When I have the Calypso connected to an EHU, will both the leisure battery and the starting battery be charged? The van has a Zig X-70 unit. The starting battery seems to lose charge quite quickly now...i.e. after 2 or 3 days standing on the driveway (not hooked up), the battery will not turn the engine over. I have checked the distilled water level and seems OK (i.e just covering the plates) so it looks like the starting battery will not hold charge......unless something is causing the battery to run down, but I can't see anything left on. I don't have any meters in the van to give me an indication of the state of the batteries - can any one suggest where I can get meters?

thanks in adv. for all help

cheers

Tony

pappajohn

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 26, 2007
Dark side of the moon
Funster No
Exp
Since 2005
depends how your charger is wired tony, what make is your control panel ?

it does sound like your engine battery is cabbaged though...even with alarm and radio memory drain it should last a couple of weeks at least.

a combined meter like this should be easy to fit.

Link Removed

Upvote 0

SandJ

Free Member
Sep 14, 2007
North Yorks
Funster No
MH
A Class
Exp
Too long lol
Hi All ,