Habitation check before buying? (1 Viewer)

streetdaddy

Free Member
Mar 13, 2011
London
Funster No
MH
Coachbuilt
Exp
I'm a newbie
I'm a complete newbie and have been searching for the right secondhand motorhome for months... Finally I have been able to decide the size and features that I really want and I have found a few that I'm keen to make an offer on...

I had always planned to get an AA check done, but I've only just realised that they don't do any inspection of the habitation area. I'm a especially worried about water ingress and I'm not sure I have the skills or knowledge to do a comprehensive check myself... So a couple of questions I would appreciate any help with!
  1. Is it advisable to get a habitation check done before buying a second hand motorhome? Most likely more than 10 years old.
  2. Can anyone suggest a mobile habitation check service for a motorhome in the Greater London area? (south of the city)

Thanks in advance for any help!

ps. Sorry if this topic has been discussed many times on here, I'm not able to search the forums just yet...

Scout

LIFE MEMBER
Apr 4, 2009
South Yorkshire
Funster No
MH
chic c line
Exp
12 years motorhoming, a lifetime of living
I'm a complete newbie and have been searching for the right secondhand motorhome for months... Finally I have been able to decide the size and features that I really want and I have found a few that I'm keen to make an offer on...

I had always planned to get an AA check done, but I've only just realised that they don't do any inspection of the habitation area. I'm a especially worried about water ingress and I'm not sure I have the skills or knowledge to do a comprehensive check myself... So a couple of questions I would appreciate any help with!
  1. Is it advisable to get a habitation check done before buying a second hand motorhome? Most likely more than 10 years old.
  2. Can anyone suggest a mobile habitation check service for a motorhome in the Greater London area? (south of the city)