Free Member
Mar 12, 2011
London
Funster No
MH
Don't own one yet
Exp
Hi,

I am looking to buy a right hand drive Hymer 522 and I am wondering if anyone has any experience of driving a right hand motor home in Europe, or if I should just keep looking till I find a left hand drive one.

Thanks

chrisboyo

Free Member
Aug 5, 2009
Newport South Wales
Funster No
MH
Autosleepers Sussex Duo
Exp
5 + 30 years a tugger
We have been abroad many times with a right hand drive, no problems
Just ask your passenger to let you know when it,s clear at roundabouts

Having said that, if your main area of use is abroad, then go for a lefty
They do tend to go a bit less pricey over here

Happy Daze
Chrisboyo

Upvote 0

haganap

LIFE MEMBER
Dec 5, 2007
planet earth
Funster No
MH
Niesman+Bischoff 79e
Exp
I'm an oldbie MH number 10
Seriously nothing to it. It takes a little getting used to at first, but after that no worries. I have been driving abroad for 20+ years, I love it, makes you think about your driving a little more :Smile:

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Upvote 0

ninjayorkies

Free Member
Mar 28, 2010
Lutterworth
Funster No
MH
A Beastie
Exp
Since July 2010
4 months touring in Europe and didn't find any problems with driving a right hander at all and I'm a complete novice at this ::bigsmile:

Upvote 0

callumwa

Free Member
Jan 16, 2011
Tyne & Wear, sometimes..
Funster No
MH
Coachbuilt
Exp
4 yrs +, 30+ yrs motorbike touring
t's like anything, after a while you will get used to it. Just go very very easy, take your time and make good use of your mirrors. Take particular care on roundabouts and at junctions especially when pulling out and turning left across oncoming traffic. If you have someone in the passenger seat they can help you, otherwise pull up at a slight angle so that your visibility to the left is increased.