Free Member
May 3, 2010
Exeter Devon
Funster No
MH
C Class
Exp
8/5/2010
As I am new to all this, only had less than 12months experience @ MH.
So I am always collecting all your tips & experience. Got told this today :Eeek:
I took my car to my garage today for a check over a noise I have, anyway
he is also a seasoned MH, when I went back to pick it up I asked him when his next trip in his MH was, he told me he had not been to it for a while, so went to check it out , when he heard an alarm going off inside.
Upon opening the door he was hit by a toxic fumes that near sent him to the floor.
When he eventually got in he noticed all the brass knobs where black & the units & lockers had gone dull, also when he sat down on the cushions they stuck to him & all the covers where just disintergrating when touched.
He said it is always plugged into the mains & the batteries had overcharged & leaked.
This is not an alarmest thread just something I am adding.
I am sure some of you will be more enlightened than myself about this.

hilldweller

LIFE MEMBER
Dec 5, 2008
Macclesfield
Funster No
MH
Zilch Mk1
Exp
From Aug 2007
This is not an alarmest thread just something I am adding.

It certainly is. You've just scared half of FUN to death.

Two faults had occurred.

1. His battery charger malfunctioned or it was an old non electronic one.
2. His batteries were not correctly mounted.

Ours has been plugged in for 4 years, no problem.
Batteries should have vent tubes to the outside to carry any gasses there. They should not be able to vent into the habitation area.

It is perfectly normal and safe to leave your batteries on charge with a modern electronic charger.