Fridge not working when driving Warm Beer Problem! (1 Viewer)

Jan 9, 2020
Merseyside
Funster No
MH
Swift 685
Exp
I’m a newbie
Hi I have me a swift 685 and the Fridge (Dometic series 9) does not work when I am driving - it’s fine on EHU
According to the manual the DC power supply is not available or insufficient. I have assumed given that the unit has an error message (flashing symbols and a buzzer) that it has power but not sufficient power. There is a real risk when I arrive in Oban tomorrow my beer will be warm 😩Any advice that will help the fridge work whilst travelling will be much appreciated

suavecarve

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 18, 2009
Surrey/Hants
Funster No
MH
Rollerteam 685
Exp
July 09
I have no idea what you just said but you have my heartfelt sympathies for your beer issue.

The fridge is not likely to get cold from working off 12 volt. It will keep the fridge at the same temperature. Make sure temperature is correct for chilled beer before leaving and the 12 volt will keep it at level for perfect refreshments upon arrival.

Aug 4, 2019
North East Riviera
Funster No
MH
Low profile
Exp
Enough to Survive
The fridge will have power to the control panel, but requires a D+ Power signal (engine running) to allow the power to heat the fridge element.

This is to prevent the fridge to run off 12v and flatten the battery without being charged from the alternator.

Check the fuse for the D+ {alternator engine running supply Signal) or simulated D+ ( form your control panel) depending how it’s wired.

As mentioned above the 12v ‘usually‘ only manages to maintain temperature. Try running It on gas (If you stop off on route) to get the temperature down.

To avoid potential disaster.....stop off at a local off licence close to your destination and get enough chilled emergency rations to last till the fridge is hooked up and fully operational with your supplies down to their optimal temperature...👍🏼

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Last edited:
Mar 30, 2019