Solo travel with a dog - some worries... (1 Viewer)

JC2001

Free Member
Jun 23, 2020
London/SE
Funster No
MH
Swift Bessacarr 596
Exp
I'm new to this
I’m soon to head off on a full time tour with just my (large) dog and I’m suddenly aware that there will be times when I need to leave the dog alone, E.g. food shopping. So can I ask for some advice.

What do others do, tether outside when appropriate weather, get a surround windbreak and corral the dog or lock inside the van for dogs safety/protection... Maybe all of the above subject to circumstances?

with advance thanks

john

OP
OP
JC2001

JC2001

Free Member
Jun 23, 2020
London/SE
Funster No
MH
Swift Bessacarr 596
Exp
I'm new to this
Ok. That makes sense. Many thanks.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

OP
OP
JC2001

JC2001

Free Member
Jun 23, 2020
London/SE
Funster No
MH
Swift Bessacarr 596
Exp
I'm new to this
Leave a big bowl of water inside and one outside, the latter as a warning to potential perpetrators that you have a big dog inside. (y)

That's clever and wise! Many thanks :giggle:

Aug 6, 2013
Kendal, Cumbria
Funster No
MH
Le-Voyageur RX958 Pl
Exp
since 1999
My only concession to security when I leave the van with my dogs inside is to lock the doors. Otherwise everything necessary to maintain a temperature we're happy with when we're inside is left for the dogs (windows, etc, open in hot weather or heating on in cold weather). We now have a camera inside we can access from anywhere to make sure they're OK. (Camera as a result of a post by eddievanbitz )

My dogs are neither large nor fierce but they are very noisy if approached when in their van 😁.

maz

Jan 26, 2011
Bizeljsko, Slovenia
Funster No
MH
N+B Arto
Exp
Since March 2011