Short term insurance to cover another driver? (1 Viewer)

meanders

Funster - Life Member
LIFE MEMBER
Jun 28, 2008
Ipswich, Suffolk
Funster No
MH
C class
Exp
Since 2004
My brother is planning to come from down under for 2-3 weeks in the summer and would like to borrow our van so he can 'tour' the relatives and friends. He quite keen on having a separate policy so that any incident does not affect our no claims.

Are such policies available, and if so, does it matter that he does not 'own' the vehicle he is insuring?

Any thoughts or comments welcome please?

philw111

Free Member
Mar 22, 2009
Moray Firth
Funster No
MH
Bessacarr 484
Exp
Since 2004
I'm not an expert on insurance but I'm sure this would pose the same problem as if you were renting your motorhome through an agency. You would in effect have two insurance policies on the vehicle at the same time and most insurers don't like this:Doh:

Phil

pappajohn

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 26, 2007
Dark side of the moon
Funster No
Exp
Since 2005
you generally find if you dont legally own the vehicle the insurers wont quote.

you may have to take a chance and put him on yours.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

sedge

Funster
Jul 7, 2009
Nr Jct 3 M6
Funster No
MH
C class
Exp
Aug 09 to date 9,000 miles!
Correct pappajohn, unless you own it or are the registered keeper, then you can't insure it.

You do need to add him to yours - the only way!

slobadoberbob

Free Member
Jun 1, 2009
Kent, garden of England
Funster No
MH
Winnebago 23' something
Exp
25 years & counting
I read an advert in mmm that would do short term

There was an advert not so long ago inthe MMM advertising insurance cover to those who wanted to test a motor home. So there is short term cover out there just a case of hunting for it.. May be worth looking back at some old MMM issues.

Bob:thumb:

Last edited:

Mags52

Free Member
Jun 2, 2010
Melrose Scottish Borders
Funster No
MH
Hymer B774
Exp
Since 2010