Free Member
Jan 6, 2011
Spain
Funster No
MH
LP
Exp
1 year
I have parked up my 2007 Ace Airstream motorhome for the past 7 weeks and now the battery is totally flat. Presumably because I did not disconnect the battery and left the alarm active.
I am now unable to jump start the MH (Fiat Ducato)

I know if I connect MH to mains electricity supply, the leasure battery will be recharged but will the cab battery be recharged also?

I am new to motorhoming so any help would be extremely welcome.

scotjimland

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 25, 2007
Funster No
MH
A Woosh bang
Re onboard charger, sorry can't answer your question.. some do, some don't .. but irrespective , I would suggest removing the battery and charging up with a proper charger .. either at home or at a garage.

Not sure why you have ruled out jump starting but in any case I wouldn't either as it can damage the alternator as it tries to charge an effectively dead battery.

old-mo

Funster
Extra Special
LIFE MEMBER
Oct 16, 2008
Weymouth. Dorset...
Funster No
MH
Nearly aint got one.
Exp
Caravan & motorhome 45 + yrs
Hi raps561,, and welcome to the funsters.. :thumb:

I may be wrong but I think providing your engine battery is ok,, I think from the mains it should be charged before the leisure battery`s..

But I may be wrong, I`m sure a member will be along when they get out of bed and put you right. ::bigsmile:

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Jan 11, 2010
Chester
Funster No
MH
Auto-trail
Exp
Well that`s our 13th year & still loving it.
battery charging

Re charging from the mains as previously mentioned it all depends on the how the motorhome has been wired up, not much use me saying "I would think a 2007 vehicle would have that facility" but i`m thinking it would have.

As for jump starting a modern vehicle I have heard this can puit error messages into the computer, don`t know why as all you are doing is connecting another fully charged battery to the vehicle, perhaps others can shed some light on this.