Threading screws plus adhesive? Solar Panel Installer in North Wales? (1 Viewer)

pengy

Free Member
Jan 24, 2014
North Wales
Funster No
MH
Autosleeper PVC
Exp
I'm a newbie
I've decided to go down the solar route with my autosleeper Kingham as it really likes the taste of electricity and I would really like to not have to go chasing the stuff every couple of days while I'm away. After reading a few threads here I'm concerned that the panel will go flying off the roof! I'm thinking that as well as being 'glued' to the roof it should also be attached by 'threading screws' or similar? To those that know about these things, does that sound sensible? Also, can anyone recommend an installer in the North Wales/Cheshire area? Thank you!

Mar 23, 2018
East Devon
Funster No
MH
PVC
Exp
Since 1995 + 20Yrs a 'Tugger' first.
I have been talking to a local installer here in the SW as I too feel I would like the security of screws. Plus I get a healthy Funster discount :cool:

Aug 6, 2013
Kendal, Cumbria
Funster No
MH
Le-Voyageur RX958 Pl
Exp
since 1999
If you take a Poll of Funsters with panels attached & include the appropriate questions you'll find, probably, none whose glued panels have come loose. Never mind fallen off. Why put unnecessary holes in the roof?

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Dec 6, 2011
South Wales
Funster No
MH
Coach built Adria
Exp
Since 2007
the panel that was reported on a thread here as ripped off actually seems to have ripped off at the screw fixings not at the roof sikaflex fixings.

mine has formed feet bonded to the roof ( preparation and correct fixing adhesive is obviously essential ) and the panel is then screwed to the feet.

if its correctly fitted then you should have nothing to be concerned about. i would only put screw holes in the body work ( especially the roof ) if it was absolutely unavoidable.

but thats just me. we all make our choices.

Deleted User