Schengen zone restrictions (1 Viewer)

Nov 2, 2019
Funster No
MH
Benimar Mileo 282
Exp
I'm new to motor-homing
I have just read that staying in a schengen zone country (ie the EU countries) is restricted to 90 days & then have to leave & not return for 90 days. Applying for a visa to individual countries can get around this but is complicated. Anyone have experience of this restriction to 90 days & is it simply you have to return to the UK? We planned to retire & tour around Europe for well over 90 days.

Jul 6, 2016
West Sussex
Funster No
MH
Carthago Chic A clas
Exp
Since 1990
Well, I knew about this restriction before the referendum in 2016 and voted accordingly.

You are correct, you are allowed 90 days in the Schengen zone in a rolling 180 day period. So, basically you have to return to UK or another non-schengen country for 90 days (say, Morocco) before entering the Schengen zone again.

Jul 4, 2017
Newton Stewart, UK
Funster No
MH
Autotrail Imala 615
Exp
Since 2000
This is not the situation at the moment or for the rest of the year but probably would be after that, depending on what deal is reached with the EU after Brexit. it will not mean that you have to return to the U.K. but would have to go to a non-Schengen country. Google for these countries.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Jan 17, 2010
Northants
Funster No
MH
Bailey Approach740SE
Exp
Since 2006
You can apply for an annual visa for a country but then that only allows you to visit another Schengen country for 90 days in 180, what I'm not clear about is whether having spent 90 days in one country other than the country you have the visa for you, can then move on to another country for 90 days or do you have to return to the visa country first for 90 days etc. And with no borders between european countries how would they know

BreweryDave

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 10, 2011
Alvor, Algarve
Funster No
MH
None now!
Exp
A40B5B49-4342-4540-BFF3-40A0F9A03C2C.png

DBK

LIFE MEMBER
Jan 9, 2013