Good or Bad idea? (1 Viewer)

Jun 18, 2019
Funster No
MH
Hymer B680 Starline
Exp
Im a newbie
Hi

We need some accommodation for 3 months from December here in the UK to tie in a house sale with a new build completion. We have be planning to buy an A class MH around 8 metres in length anyway. We are a family of 4 ( 2 kids 10 and 6 ) and 2 dogs.

House rentals don't like less than 6 months ( dogs also a problem ). Suitable short term rentals are around £3000 per month.

One option I have is a 3 month seasonal pitch at a nice site at a reasonable rate.

The kids are dead excited to be living in a MH for 3 months. What are the drawbacks ( obvious and not so obvious? ) Or, would it be a great adventure?

Thanks

Riverbankannie

LIFE MEMBER
Mar 11, 2016
Bristol
Funster No
MH
IH 630 RL PVC
Exp
it sounds a good solution, a great adventure I say !
However, before you buy, check that you have the C1 category on your driving licence for vehicles over 3500 kg.

Ensure that seasonal pitch is available in those winter months and find out if you can put up an awning or tent so that you have somewhere to dry wet clothes and muddy boots ....... and muddy dogs !

Upvote 0

icantremember

LIFE MEMBER
Sep 2, 2010
Near to Watton in Norfolk
Funster No
MH
Hymer T-SL668
Exp
since 2005
I feel guilty suggesting it ... but would a large caravan not suit the purpose just as well and be a lot cheaper?

There, I've said it ... now I shall go and wash my mouth out and say ten hail Marys.:laughing:

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Upvote 0
OP
OP
B4ssy
Jun 18, 2019
Funster No
MH
Hymer B680 Starline
Exp
Im a newbie
it sounds a good solution, a great adventure I say !
However, before you buy, check that you have the C1 category on your driving licence for vehicles over 3500 kg.

Ensure that seasonal pitch is available in those winter months and find out if you can put up an awning or tent so that you have somewhere to dry wet clothes and muddy boots ....... and muddy dogs !

Thanks