Ceramic coatings? (1 Viewer)

Aug 5, 2018
Funster No
MH
a
Worth their weight in ceramic or snake oil...
Your experiences welcome!

Silver-Fox

LIFE MEMBER
Sep 5, 2014
Cheltenham Spa
Funster No
MH
Rapido
Exp
im a not so newbie
Oooo I’m off to get the pop corn.

Some swear by them others say just use wax.
I’ve never used them so have no direct experience

OP
OP
HandyAndy
Aug 5, 2018
Funster No
MH
a
Yes I'd rather have replies from people with DIRECT experience rather than what they've heard. :D

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

May 31, 2015
Cornwall
Funster No
MH
Ducato PVC
Exp
Getting Better
There is a thread on here at the moment “is my van the oldest” 1988 is one of the oldest so far and I doubt it’s seen much polish at all let alone ceramic.....

The proof is in the pudding.....

If there is any advantage to it then you’ll have a nice shiny van sitting in the scrap yard because the mechanical side will be rotted...

Sep 17, 2017
Birmingham, UK
Funster No
MH
A-Class
Exp
I polished the 'spiders webs' and clouding off of my headlights earlier this year. It also removes all the UV coating off the plastic, so it generally doesn't look good for very long. I applied some relatively cheap ceramic coating and have since done 8000 miles around Europe. They still look good and the flies wash of easily.

A mate (who is a little anal) got a new car. He had it ceramic coated by a professional, cost a small fortune. A year later it still looks fantastic.

Is it better than a really well applied wax? Probably not. And it's definitely over hyped. But it is good stuff.

May 7, 2016
West Sussex
Funster No
MH
Carthago Compactline
Exp
Since 2003