Good fuel figures ( but it took a while ! ) (1 Viewer)

Jaws

LIFE MEMBER
Sep 26, 2008
Thetford Norfolk
Funster No
MH
C class, Chieftain
Exp
since 2006 ( I think ! )
Got an odd one

Now I am a mechanic.. Been around engines,spanners and the like most of my life, a good many years professionally ( weeeelllllllll .. making a living and pretending a lot ! LOL !) but in all honesty the logic of this beats me

How can a bloody diesel engine become MORE efficient as time goes by running nothing more than a modification to the fuel rail map ?
I could understand an improvement ( or otherwise ) at the time of fitting, but over a period ( looong period ) how can this be ?

Below is all the facts and figures but it is those very figures that prompted the question !

Last year an Newark I bought a widget from 'Talking of Cats' which was supposed to give me better MPG

In all honesty it did little .. In fact one run we did returned the worst figures since ownership!

I contacted Mark ( the owner ) of the firm and it quickly became apparent the unit I had was none too well !

He asked me to return it ( offering to pay costs ) so that a replacement could be issued.

Within a couple of days a new unit turned up with a note of apology and saying this one had an updated map on it.

Well it was fitted ( only takes moments ) and although it did make a difference it was very small and, to be honest, not really worth talking about.. Given the cost of the unit I would have had to do in excess of 200,000 miles before I broke even !!!!! :Eeek: ( figures gleaned from 4 tanks of diesel as that was the criteria and tests I did before going for the widget )

It has now been fitted for about 3500 miles ( approx 8 tank fulls ) and all of a sudden the MPG has risen to a worth while amount..

It has gone from 21 MPG to 25.5 MPG ( this has only been over the last tank full to be 100% honest, though it has been getting better and better as time has gone by )..