which parking heater to install on my VW T5 (1 Viewer)

David Portabella

Free Member
Mar 15, 2019
Funster No
MH
Fiat Ducato or VW T6
Exp
I'm a newbie
I am looking to buy a VM T5 California campervan, that is completely isolated Xtremisolator but it does not have a parking heater. I need to travel and sleep in Switzerland during the winter. Do I need a parking heater, or the normal heater of the van is enough?

How do I choose a parking heater? and where to buy it, nearby Switzerland?
I've heard about "Truma Trumatic E", but there are many options.

Cheers,
David

Nov 23, 2008
Funster No
Have a look on ebay for one of those chinese diesel heaters my son has installed one in a l rover 110 county station wagon and its very effective make sure you install properly though as exterior exhust air vents etc all need to be correct to make sure you dont kill yourself if done wrong it could have fatal consiquences so have checked by a competent second opinion

Nov 30, 2009
Pickering
Funster No
MH
PVC the PUG
Exp
Since 2009 with motorhomes several caravans then tents before that.
We have webasto diesel heating fitted to our panel van . It’s brilliant . But we’ve also got excellent insulation. More than what the standard motorhome/pvc is built with. Obviously the better insulation the warmer the van , which ever heater you go for.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Minxy

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 22, 2007
E Yorks
Funster No
MH
Carthago Compactline
Exp
Since 1996, had Elddis/Swift/Rapido/Rimor/Chausson MHs. Autocruise/Globecar PVCs/Compactline i-138
Hi David, welcome to the fun house. :)

I totally agree with Nirvanauk above, I wouldn't want to stay in one in winter either. There's no way to keep it warm even with a 'parking' heater if the roofs up, it would be like living in a tent so would be very cold. Only alternative would be to keep the roof down which would then mean you'd be cramped.