Free Member
Feb 23, 2019
Funster No
MH
Just looking
Exp
I’m a newbie
Hi all
I am hoping some of you may be able to help ...
Firstly a bit about me - I’m 59 .. been looking at static caravans ( but can not justify getting one particular because of the site fees)
So decided to look for a small camper van - I do mean small... My two in mind are the Nissan Nv200 or the Vw caddy Max.
There will only be myself and wife using it.
I want a vehicle I can use as a every day car too .. so hence why I have chosen the likes of the Nissan and the VW. ( I only average around 6000k a year .
My questions are - which would make the best campervan- The NV200- or the VW Caddy ... also would you suggest I buy a nice van and have it converted ... or is it better /cheaper to buy an all ready converted van? ... I have been to see one company who does conversions... and I thought the finish was poor ( I am a cabinet maker and I use to fit out narrow boats) I can here you all say well why don’t you convert a van yourself... and to be honest I’d love too but .... I know sod all about the best way to lay out a van .. no nothing about electrics or gas ... anyhow I look forward to your reply’s - Thanks in advance .

MisterB

LIFE MEMBER
Feb 25, 2018
Essex
Funster No
MH
Adria 670 SLT
Exp
enough to know i shouldnt touch things i know nothing about ....
Look for a base vehicle that already has a pop up roof. A lot if japanese imports come fitted with them. We had a honda stepwagon which was great but if i was going to build my own i would consider the nissan elgrand. You can get ideas for layouts from all over the net and you could pay someone to do the bits you cant

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

OP
OP
M

Mr.alan

Free Member
Feb 23, 2019
Funster No
MH
Just looking
Exp
I’m a newbie
I was seriously considering a elgrand or alphard as they are luxurious... but ...