What Camera? (1 Viewer)

Sep 12, 2012
Wengen
Funster No
MH
A/S Broadway EL 2021
Exp
Since 2010
Hi, I'm interested in suggestions as to what camera to buy :) After a fairly decent digital slr type thingy for general holiday photo's, as you may gather I'm not an expert & currently use my iphone. Help :pray2:

Chris

LIFE MEMBER
May 5, 2010
Funster No
MH
None
Exp
10 years
Hi, I'm interested in suggestions as to what camera to buy :) After a fairly decent digital slr type thingy for general holiday photo's, as you may gather I'm not an expert & currently use my iphone. Help :pray2:

Do you really need more than the SLR and an iPhone?

I decided ages ago that was enough for me.

But then I am a crap photographer.

Sep 17, 2017
Birmingham, UK
Funster No
MH
A-Class
Exp
I've got a Sony A6000. It -can- take really nice shots, particularly with my prime lens. But you have to take your time. In Auto mode, it's not really significantly better than my phone.

Modern smartphones have a hell of a lot of processing power. That processing power means it's smarter at working out what settings to use that my Sony in Auto, so more quick shots are in focus and exposed properly. That same processing power also means they can apply really clever post-processing. Phone photos tend to have nicer exposure create photos that pop more and have better dynamic range. You can get the same effect with a DSLR if you run everything through software, but that takes effort!

In my opinion, unless you want to make a serious hobby of it and spend ages faffing, stick to snaps on a phone. You can still take brilliant shots with a phone.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

two

Aug 4, 2011
West Midlands
Funster No
MH
A-Class Fiat
Bear in mind that the bigger it gets, the less likely you are to take it with you.
I moved to the micro4/3 (MFT) format to keep it small but the cameras are getting bigger and I can no longer take my full collection of lenses with me (too heavy).