Habitation service, 3rd year is it needed? (1 Viewer)

Aug 31, 2014
Surrey
Funster No
MH
Coach built
Exp
4th year
Happy new year,
In May 2019 my Swift Bolero with be 3 years old, I have had 1st & 2nd service done by my dealer, but can't help thinking that its a lot of money to get a sticker & a cerificate.
The last time it took them over 4 weeks to complete and constant chasing up so will not be using them again, but before I go to the effort of finding another suitable Swift dealer is it worth it.
By trade I'm an electrical aircraft engineer so am very capable of fixing & checking for leaks, damp, etc..

We are planning to keep this for the next 5 years as this suits our needs, Does everyone else bother, I do hear of nightmares with doors & leaks etc but unsure if the cost and hassle is worth it.

Thanks

Lenny HB

LIFE MEMBER
Oct 18, 2007
On the coast in West Sussex
Funster No
MH
Hymer B678 DL
Exp
Since 2008 & many years tugging
On our 3rd new van never had a habitation service only have the annual damp check done. Like you I am perfectly capable of telling everything is working. Nose works quite well for a gas check but I do use a gas sniffer (less than 30 quid) and a good item to carry in the van.

tonka

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 2, 2008
Cannock, Staffs
Funster No
MH
A class Burstner 800
Exp
Since 2000
It all depends on what warranty you have and the terms and conditions to maintain any cover.
My Autotrail has a 10 year ingress warranty ( luckily) and I am required to have an annual habitation check by an NCC approved company. Mine is done by a mobile engineer that comes to my house.
However some manufacturers force you to only use their dealers .

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Jul 1, 2010
SW Northumberland
Funster No
MH
Hymer B 588 DL
Exp
Since September 2010