Solo female travelers...pros and cons (1 Viewer)

bennyyorkie

Free Member
Nov 10, 2018
Funster No
MH
Van conversion
Hi,
Im a beginner in my 30's..as in I am researching which van to buy for me and my yorkie's summer trips. I've seen lots of videos on youtube which "project" only positive elements of the solo female vanlife but would love to learn more about the day to day realities. I plan to travel around the UK and Ireland for a good while before going further afield.
So not really sure what to ask about specifically? I dont really believe that a female solo travelers is automatically at more risk. I guess Im wondering what precautions should a female solo van gal take so as to feel secure on the road?
Also, wondering how I might make my yorkie feel secure....I guess blacked out windows so that he wouldnt be easily seen when I'm away from the van for a few hours and an alarm?

Lastly, I'm anxious to learn as much as I can about mechanical stuff...luckily have a mechanic in the family to help with that...but how do you feel about breaking down on the road? Is breakdown assistance reliable? I guess local garages are likely to put a premium on prices when they see a stranded foreign campervan?
Would love to hear your experiences and how you handled them :)
Trying to find a balance against the youtube vanlife falsehoods.

Jul 12, 2013
The City of Henlow
Funster No
MH
Adria Supreme
Exp
Since 1980
Mechanically motorhomes are pretty basic for a mechanic and other than possible size problems in their garage, there should be little difference from a car.
Most, if not all vans have an assortment of blinds that leave you as private as you might wish to be.
There are many solo female drivers in Motorhomes. A visit to a Motorhome rally might be a good way to meet other single lady travellers and to discuss any concerns face to face.
Finally, from my own experience, the larger the van the easier the controls are to use.

Feb 22, 2011
Newcastle under Lyme
Funster No
MH