Insurance for highish value without alarm etc? (1 Viewer)

Oct 30, 2016
Colchester
Funster No
MH
Le voyageur 8.5
Exp
On 3rd van so not a total newbie....
Our insurance is due on our Dethleffs, value about £60k but has no alarm/immobiliser, previously went with C&MC club as were first time motorhomers, and also wanted occasional business use, we could drop the business use, but preferably don't want to fit an alarm, any suggestions?

stewartwebr

LIFE MEMBER
Jun 6, 2010
Edinburgh
Funster No
MH
Morelo Empire Liner
Exp
36 years and 16 motorhomes
A number of insurers don't seem too interested in alarms, they focus more on Cat 1 immobilisers and Cat 5 trackers. They all have differing trigger levels. The level for both of those stated appears to be around the 100K mark. The C&MC appeared to be one of the more flexible, underwritten by Axa. I have always found them to be the best price by far but that goes for absolutely nothing when discussing insurance as we all have so many variables.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Puddleduck

LIFE MEMBER
Jan 15, 2014
Scottish Borders
Funster No
MH
Without at present
Exp
On and off for many years.
We used AiB (brokers) for our insurance. The actual policy is with AXA this year. AiB give a discount for Funsters. Worth giving them a call? They have an ad at the top of the page.

May 8, 2010
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
Since 2010
Scenic don’t require an alarm or a tracker. Their premiums are quite high though. Might it not be more economical in the long run, to have an alarm fitted, though? They don’t have to cost an arm and a leg.

haganap

LIFE MEMBER
Dec 5, 2007
planet earth
Funster No
MH
Niesman+Bischoff 79e
Exp
I'm an oldbie MH number 10
for the first time ever I have a tracker on my van. An alarm serves little purpose in my opinion, people hear them and think nothing.