Failed leisure battery ! (1 Viewer)

Feb 21, 2016
Uk
Funster No
MH
C class
Exp
Since 2017
I’m no expert,but I think they should last a bit longer than that. Some vans have an inbuilt system so that if you leave them on hook up,they dont “cook”.
Now your thread is back in view,you might get a response from someone who knows more than I do.

scotjimland

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 25, 2007
Suffolk Coastal District, UK
Funster No
MH
Timberland
depends on how it has been treated.. used or abused.

i.e. how often it has been cycled down to 50% , and has it ever been taken below 50% or lower ?

what make of charger unit is fitted ?

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

TheBig1

LIFE MEMBER
Nov 27, 2011
Dorset
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
many many years! since I was a kid
batteries have only a limited number of charge/discharge cycles 3 or 4 years is about average for a usable life span if you fit and forget. a quality charger with desulphation mode will extend the useful life if used occasionally

scotjimland

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 25, 2007
Funster No
MH
Timberland
should also have asked what type and make of battery.. I'm assuming a bog standard flooded lead acid

An Exide GEL battery while costing perhaps double or more will last many years and take more abuse than an FLA ..

When I bought my van it had the original Hymer fitted gel batteries , still working.. but as they were 14 years old I didn't want them failing while away, so replaced them with OEM Exide Gels ..

Last edited:

funflair

LIFE MEMBER
Dec 11, 2013
Guisborough
Funster No
MH
MORELO palace
Exp
since 2012
If flooded LA they could have dried out.

Martin

OP
OP
Howard H

Howard H

LIFE MEMBER
Nov 10, 2015
West Lancashire
Funster No
MH
Benimar mileo 294
99FF639B-879E-4F85-AD69-677C5695B857.jpeg
depends on how it has been treated.. used or abused.

i.e. how often it has been cycled down to 50% , and has it ever been taken below 50% or lower ?

what make of charger unit is fitted ?