Outside hook up point at home ? (1 Viewer)

Charlie

Free Member
May 16, 2015
Herefordshire / Worcestershire borders .
Funster No
MH
Auto Sleeper Kemerton.
Exp
Im a newbie
Im looking at setting up an outside hook up point using the usual blue plugs... Having just installed new garage doors I can no longer lay the lead under the garage door.

What do I need and are the blue plugs and outlet sockets waterproof ?

Thanks.

The Flute

Free Member
Nov 18, 2017
Funster No
MH
Dethfleffs
As it's an outside socket it is covered by part P so should be done by an electrician. But
You could buy a Ip65 commando socket. Some 2.5mm 3 core cable and a Rcd protected plug top And just make an Extension lead up
That's not covered by part p

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Mar 23, 2012
sleights
Funster No
MH
c class
Exp
If you don't have modern RCD's in your box suggest a separate on on the inside wall where you fix the outlet it should nowdays be fitted by an electrician......................

SuperMike

Free Member
Apr 28, 2010
St Albans
Funster No
MH
Winnebago Sightseer
Exp
11yrs, but many years a tugger.
Fit usual 16A blue type socket to suitable wall near motorhome then run cable, somehow, indoors and to spare fuseway on your consumer unit, using RCD at appropriate level. Or 'cos you can't do that without appropriate qualification, plug it into a 13A socket, again fused at appropriate level. :)

Feb 24, 2013
Bolsover, Derbyshire
Funster No
MH
Hymer S800
Exp
not long enough
10mm hole through wall, trailing lead with female 16A socket outside, 13A plug in inside

Or do it the harder way get an external socket fitted on outside wall then same lead but no need for hole in wall :)(y)

Last edited:

The Flute

Free Member
Nov 18, 2017
Funster No
MH
Dethfleffs
You don't need qualifications to be competent....you need to show competence to get a qualification certificate.
If you have the ability, confidence and knowledge to fit an outdoor commando socket, just fit it.